Latest BWF World Rankings (announced 11/27/2014)


The top ranked players in the respective disciplines, as announced by the BWF in the latest rankings on November 27th, 2014:
  • Men’s singles: Lee Chong Wei (Malaysia)
  • Women’s singles: Li Xue Rui (China)
  • Men’s doubles: Lee Yong Dae/Yoo Yeon Seong (Korea)
  • Women’s doubles: Tian Qing/Chnzhao Yunlei (China)
  • Mixed doubles: Zhang Nan/Zhao Yun Lei (China)
Lee Yong Dae
World No. 1 in the men’s doubles: Lee Yong Dae/Yoo Yeon Seong
There were two tournaments of BWF Super Series grade or above in November, the China Open in the second week and the Hong Kong Open in the third week. The China Open was a Super Series Premier event that meant the title winners would bag 11,000 ranking points, making it an important event for players wanting to rise up the rankings or qualify for the end of year Super Series Finals.
BWF Ranking │ November 27, 2014
Men's Single
Women's Single
Men's Doubles
Women's Doubles
Mixed Doubles

Lee Chong Wei

Li Xuerui
Tian Qing
Chnzhao Yunlei

Zhang Nan
Zhao Yunlei

Chen Long
Wang Shixian

Hendra Setiawan
Mohammed Ahsan

Misaki Matsutomo
Ayaka Takahasi

Xu Chen
Ma Jin

Jan O Jorgensen
Wang Yihan

Mathias Boe
Carsten Mogensen

Kamilla Rytter Juhl
Chrinstinna Pedersen

Saina Nehwal

Hiroyuki Endo
Kenichi Hayakawa
Bao Yixin
TANG Jinhua

Tontowi Ahmad
Liliyana Natsir
Tommy Sugiarto

Luo Ying
Luo Yu

Lu Kai
Yaqiong Huang
Kenichi Tago

Reika Kakiiwa
Miyuki Maeda

Lin Dan
Ratchanok Intanon
Chai Biao
Hong Wei

Wan Xiaoli
Yu Yang (F)

Chris Adcock
Gabrielle Adcock
K. Srikanth

Carolina Marin

Liu Xiaolong
Qiu Zihan

Chang Ye Na
Liu Cheng
Bao Yixin

Fu Haifeng
Zhang Nan

Wang Zhengming
Liu Xin (F)


Lee So Hee

Go Ah Ra
Yoo Hae Won
Jwala Gutta
Check full ranking at : BWF World Ranking
As he is wrapped up in a doping scandal, Lee Chong Wei hasn’t played in tournaments recently. With Lee absent, many felt that the China Open men’s singles title would go to either Lin Dan or Chen Long of China, but India’s K. Srikanth put in the performance of his career to beat Lin Dan (Super Dan), in the process moving up the world rankings to 8th. (His best ranking before this was 16th)   
Lee/Yoo defend title successfully and take fourth title of 2014
Korea team captain Yoo Yeon Seong took the men’s doubles title at the China Open with idol partner Lee Yong Dae. They not only successfully defended their title but also bagged their fourth Super Series win of the year; and have also taken a second place in a Super Series event, second place at the world championship and a BWF Grand Prix Gold title showing just why they are ranked No. 1 in the world.
Lee Yong Dae
Victors at the 2014 China Open  Lee Yong Dae /Yoo Yeon Seong (left)
With partner Eom Hye Won, in the mixed doubles Yoo Yeon Seong also made it all the way from the qualifying stage to the final, knocking out fancied pair after pair as they went, finishing a very creditable second place.  
As they rarely play together in international tournaments the pair’s ranking before this event was a lowly 146th. In the final, they only narrowly lost to current world No. 1 pair (and couple off court) , China’s Zhang Nan/Zhao Yun Lei, showing their ability isn’t to be underestimated. Their second place result moved them 101 places up the world rankings. (at 45th now)
Yoo Yeon Seong
Final results at the 2014 China Open
  MS K. Srikanth IND 21-19, 21-17 CHN Lin Dan  
  WS Saina Nehwal [6] IND 21-12, 22-20  Akane Yamaguchi  
  MD Lee Yong Dae [1] 
Yoo Yeon Seong 
21-14, 21-15 CHN Chai Biao [8]
CHN Hong Wei
  WD Yu Yang [5] CHN
Wang Xiaoli 
21-16, 19-21, 22-20 CHN Tian Qing [2]
CHN Zhao Yunlei
  XD Zhang Nan [1] CHN
Zhao Yunlei CHN
23-25, 21-14, 21-18  Yoo Yeon Seong [Q]
 Eom Hye Won
VICTOR Stars take two golds at the Hong Kong Open, last chance to qualify for the Super Series Finals
Only the players/pairs who finish in the top eight in the respective disciplines overall after the 12 Super Series events in the year qualify for the Super Series Finals. The last stage of this year’s Super Series was the Hong Kong Open so it was a key event for those players hovering near the eighth spot who wanted to play in the Finals in Dubai.
Son Wan Ho
Singles champions at the 2014 Hong Kong Open, men’s champion Son Wan Ho and women’s champion Tai Tzu Ying (left) 
The highlights of the Hong Kong Open were Chinese Taipei’s Tai Tzu Ying against new Japanese hope Nozomi Okuhara in the women’s singles final and the “battle between dragon and tiger”, the men’s singles final between China’s Chen Long and Korea Son Wan Ho. (Dragon and tiger from the names of the players) 
This tournament’s dark horse, world ranked 48th Nozomi Okuhara, beat China’s Sun Yu and this year’s world champion Marin to reach the final. Tai Tzu Ying also showed what she can do by beating India’s Saina Nehwal and China’s Liu Xin to reach the final.
Both these on form players played well in the final but there could only be one winner. Tai was aggressive from the start, effectively disguising her fast clears, diagonal drop shots and smashes and forcing Nozomi to make frequent errors. The first game was close but the Japanese player couldn’t maintain her stiff resistance in the second and it ended 19-21,11-21, leaving Tai the winner.
Korea’s No. 1 men’s singles player Son Wan Ho (ranked 4th) followed his dramatic victory against China’s Chen Long (ranked 2nd) at the world team championship by beating him again in the final of the Hong Kong Open
Perhaps his victory before was put down to luck by some but, after this latest triumph, it is sure that no one will now doubt his ability. Son showed mental maturity, maintained a stable high level of play and also showed great desire to win.
The two Victor Stars Tai and Son tasted the sweet taste of victory at the Hong Kong Open and, in winning, also qualified for the Super Series Final in Dubai. For the latest results from Dubai, keep a close eye on VICTOR official website or the Global Facebook Fanpage.
Final results at the Hong Kong Open
  MS Son Wan Ho [6] KOR 21-19, 21-16 CHN Chen Long [1]  
  WS Tai Tzu Ying [6] TPE 21-19, 21-11 JPN Nozomi Okuhara  
  MD Mohammad Ashan [2] INA
Hendra Setiawan INA
21-16, 17-21, 21-15 CHN Liu Xiaolong [6]
CHN Qiu Zihan
Tian Qing [2]  CHN
Zhao Yunlei CHN
21-13, 21-13 JPN Misaki Matsutomo [1]
JPN Ayaka Takahashi
Zhang Nan [2]  CHN
Zhao Yunlei CHN
21-14, 21-19 CHN Xu Chen [2]
CHN Ma Jing
( Edit by VICTOR Badminton )